Horry County Sheriff wins 2017 SC Sheriff of the Year

The Coastal Carolina Fraternal Order of Police Lodge 12 extends our congratulations to Horry County Sheriff Phillip E. Thompson for being chosen as the South Carolina Sheriffs’ Association‘s 2017 Sheriff of the Year.

Nominated by multiple Sheriffs for the award this year, four different area leaders wrote about Sheriff Thompson’s “commitment to serving others and his innovative approach to law enforcement makes him uniquely qualified to be honored as our Sheriff of the Year.”

As a law enforcement veteran with 38 years of experience with both the Horry County and Myrtle Beach Police Departments, Sheriff Thompson was elected Sheriff of Horry County in 2001.

Sheriff Thompson also was previously awarded the Young Offender Parole and Reentry Services Judge Bill Byars Community Partner Award in Law Enforcement by Governor Nikki Haley in 2016 for his role as involvement during the creation of South Carolina’s only in-house drug treatment program for inmates. The therapeutic community program addresses addiction and the criminogenic thinking processes during a three phase program which lasts up to two years in the detention center, and two more years in area halfway houses. The program has been highly successful with records showing an average 70% rate of success.

The SCFOP12 honors those in the law enforcement field for their commitment and dedication to serving and protecting the citizens in our communities. We express our gratitude to Sheriff Thompson for his hard work.

Video: Horry County Sheriff Phillip E. Thompson – South Carolina Sheriffs’ Association’s 2017 Sheriff of the Year